Waldorf Block Rotation for Homeschoolers, Grades 1-8

This Waldorf block rotation for homeschoolers is a great starting point when planning your year. These are the traditional main lesson blocks that are done in each grade.

As homeschoolers, we are in a unique position to choose and design blocks based on what the children before us, our own children, need. Even in Waldorf classrooms, there is variation in block topics and when they are brought. You can begin designing your own homeschool curriculum plan with this outline.

Waldorf Block Rotation for Homeschoolers, Grades 1-8

Waldorf Block Rotation for Homeschoolers

Grade One

Introduction to Letters through Fairy Tales (2 blocks)
Nature Stories (2 blocks)
Math (2 or 3 blocks): quality of numbers, whole numbers, counting to 144, the four processes using numbers 0-24, symbols of four processes, subtraction facts to 20, multiplication tables, 2x, 3x, 10; using rhythm as much as possible.

Grade Two

Fables: Aesop’s, Celtic and others (1 or 2 blocks)
Legends of Saints (1 or 2 blocks)
Local Folklore or Native American Tales (1 block)
Math (3 or 4 blocks): times tables through12, number patterns, column adding, situation problems, time, money.

Grade Three

Old Testament stories or Creation stories (1 block)
Native Americans (1 block, if not covered in Grade 2)
Homes & Shelters (1 block)
House Building (1 block)
Clothing, Fabric & Fiber (1 block)
Farming & Food (1 block)
Math ( 3 blocks): carrying & borrowing, times table practice, long division, number patterns, weights & measures, telling time, money calculations.

Grade Four

Human Being & Animal (1 block)
Norse Myths (1 block)
Local Geography (1 block)
Grammar (included in other main lesson work)
Math (3 or 4 blocks): review operations, times tables, averages, long division, factoring, proofs, word problems, mental math.

Grade Five

Ancient History – India, Persia, China, Egypt, Greece (2 or 3 blocks)
Botany (1 or 2 blocks)
North American Geography (1 block)
Math (3 blocks): decimals, fractions, mixed numbers, reciprocals, metric system, map references, simple laws and patterns in math.

Grade Six

History – Fall of Troy through Roman History; Medieval History (3 blocks)
Geography of the World (1 or 2 blocks)
Physics (1 block)
Geology & Mineralogy (1 block)
Astronomy (1 block)
Math (2 blocks): percentage, ratio, proportion, profit & loss, simple interest, algebraic equations, geometric drawing with ruler & compass, string designs, visual discovery of geometric patterns.

Grade Seven

History and Literature (3 or 4 blocks): the Age of Exploration & Discovery, the Renaissance 1400-1700; Arthurian Legends, Biographies, Poetry
Geography of the World (1 block): Africa, Europe, weather and map reading, geographical terms.
Physics (1 bock)
Chemistry of Combustion (1 block)
Astronomy (1 block)
Health & Nutrition (1 block)
Math (2 or 3 blocks): geometry, perspective drawing, business math, graphing, roots & powers.

Grade Eight

History and Literature (2 blocks): 1700 to present – Industrial Revolution, colonialism, American History including life of people & biography: Shakespeare, Napoleon, Washington, Jefferson, Lincoln, inventors.
Literature (2 blocks): short story, elements of a story, writing a short story, Shakespeare play.
Physics (1 block)
Chemistry (1 block)
Physiology (1 block)
Geography of the World (1 block): continents (integrate with history)
Math (2 blocks): practical math, set theory, percent, equations, solid geometry, volumes of solids.

I have an entire 5-day series on Main Lesson Blocks. Start here with What is a Main Lesson Block?

And if you just want to talk with an experienced homeschooler about how to create main lessons for your children, check out Mentor Sessions with Jean. Often one session is all you need to get you feeling good and moving forward with homeschooling.